Powered by TurnTo
4.5 / 5.0
9 Reviews
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
5
3
1
0
0
Rated 5 out of 5
Glad I finally bought a dedicated MC GPS!
Great screen visibility in the sun. Being able to create a custom route is a great feature. It’s somewhat confusing learning the formats compared to a auto GPS unit but is just a matter of a learning curve due to its custom features. Manual has clear instructions. Came with everything needed to attach to my MC.
August 17, 2021
Purchased
1 year ago
Rated 5 out of 5
Thumbs up for new TOMTOM GPS!!
My husband who's been riding motorcycles for 61 yrs., gave the device 2 Thumbs up!!
October 1, 2020
Purchased
over 2 years ago
Rated 5 out of 5
A great motorcycle GPS!
I have a couple hundred miles using this Rider550 and I really like it. Nice improvements from my older Rider model. Great screen in full sun. Easily read and interacted with while riding.
March 27, 2019
Purchased
over 3 years ago
Rated 4 out of 5
Good Device
Runs pretty fast. The link to phone and headset is convenient. Don't seem to have a problem with running down my phone battery as many others have experienced.
Main comparison is to the China brand running a Windows application. Used Igo on that and was pleased with their guidance application as far as screen information and overall guidance....it actually used TomTom maps.
I prefer the Igo over the TomTom but this device is pretty seamless. Would recommend this to a potential buyer for their motorcycle application
October 7, 2020
Purchased
over 2 years ago
Rated 4 out of 5
550 initial review
Rider 550 received recently. Controls seem intuitive. Screen touch is quite sensitive (can adjust sensitivity, but I had it on ‘no gloves‘ setting & barely touch screen to have characters populate). Screen could be much brighter in daytime - think I will have to get a sun shade accessory for it. Haven’t used it at night yet. Re accessories- be aware the Rider550 does NOT have a MINI port...So the car or wall charger additional accessory offered that has a MINI plug isn’t going to plug in to this unit. It has a MICRO port. Also has an SD card slot; haven’t used that yet.
July 1, 2020
Purchased
over 2 years ago
Rated 4 out of 5
My Tom Tom 550
Love it; but, I wish that I had purchased the larger screen. Also, the sunshade does not seem to be designed for the 550. It desn't fit welll, and is easily knocked off.
February 21, 2019
Purchased
over 4 years ago
Rated 3 out of 5
Still getting used to this device but it looks promising.
This device is close to my iPhone maps which is what I was looking for and won’t lose the signal because it’s GPS and does not rely on phone signal which is non existent away from the towns and cities. I’m still playing with it and found it has alternate route planning which is great. It does have a software bug where if I chose “avoid unpaved roads” it gets a message on every route saying route is not possible without unpaved roads. I ride a touring bike so I would like to avoid gravel roads. I did download the latest software so it does not look like it will get fixed anytime soon. I have rode with it a couple hundred miles so far but it’s as good if not better than the GPS on my Indian.
September 16, 2021
Purchased
1 year ago
Customer Comments